Raging Speedhorn

Over the course of 20 years Raging Speedhorn have built a solid and long-standing reputation as one of the UK’s leading metal outfits

Since forming in 1998, Corby’s Raging Speedhorn have become infamous for their sledgehammer heavy albums and violent live shows. First single, ‘Thumper’, produced by industrial veteran, Marc Heal, was released in 2000 to critical acclaim. In 2001 Speedhorn entered the UK Singles Chart at Number 50 with ‘The Gush’. In 2002, they released their second album ‘We Will Be Dead Tomorrow’. Met with critical acclaim, ‘WWBDT’ is Speedhorn’s most successful record to date. Videos for subsequent singles, ‘The Hate Song’ & ‘F*** The Voodooman’, received heavy rotation on Kerrang! TV & MTV 2. Following its release, Speedhorn toured globally for the next two years, securing spots on major festivals like Reading & Leeds and Download Festival.

The band followed up ‘WWBDT’ with ‘How The Great Have Fallen’ in 2005, which was released through Steamhammer/SPV Records. Shortly after its release, vocalist Frank Regan left the band, and former Hard To Swallow frontman Bloody Kev joined. The band toured heavily through ‘05 & ‘06, including a headline slot at Download Festival & a US tour with Soilent Green, Nile, Hypocrisy & Decapitated. The band released their fourth record, ‘Before The Sea Was Built’ in September 2007. The band’s activity slowed over the next few months, and on March 25th 2008 announced their split after a final tour of Japan.

On February 18th 2014, Speedhorn announced their reformation, with vocalists Regan and John Loughlin returning. The line-up was rounded out with drummer Gordon Morison, bassist Dave Thompson & guitarists Jay Thompson and Jim Palmer. Since reforming, the band have toured steadily and appeared at numerous festivals across the UK; including Download Festival, Damnation Festival, Sonisphere Festival, Bloodstock Festival, HRH and many more.

In 2016 the band released ‘Lost Ritual’, which was met with universal praise from fans and critics alike. Their 2020 follow up, ‘Hard to Kill’, recorded with Russ Russell is the first to feature new vocalist Dan Cook who replaces long-standing co-vocalist John Loughlin. John stood down after 21 years during the recording of ‘Hard To Kill’, leaving the mantle open for Dan. RSH also welcome new guitarist Dave Leese and former Hundred Reasons bassist Andy Gilmour who join founding drummer Gordon Morison and guitarist Jim Palmer.

Desertfest London 2024